time to meet your (blog)maker

hey, y’all!

my name is Morgan Brooke Maloney. this is me: the goofy smile behind the broad-brimmed hat. 👒

trying to pretend it’s actually fall in Florida, not 85° in November

 

currently, I teach life science to sixth and seventh graders. probably no need to explain, but man, those kids are a handful. while I love spending my time mentoring & preparing my students for the realities of life, my greatest passion is educating myself. I am a self-proclaimed bibliophile. now some of you may be unsure what a bibliophile is (it was one of those SAT words that slipped right on out of your brain when the test was over, right?) so let me refresh your memory.

bib•li•o•phile /ˈbiblēəˌfīl/

n. a person who collects or has a great love of books. 

according to the Oxford Dictionary, I’m basically a supreme book nerd who finds comfort in the written word and the imagination. I may have gone so far as to get a little something tattooed on my side with my personal nature in mind: a reminder that words can transform you & transport you, that they are so much more than just letters on a page.

img_2335
tattoo art by Caio “Chopper” Chermont at Atomic Tattoo in Ybor City, FL

while my greatest passion involves lots and lots of books, it also requires copious amounts of traveling! I crave discovery in a new place: experiencing the uniqueness of a city that established its culture, learning the history that forged its foundation, and meeting the people that call it home.

so here we are. off on a new adventure. reading and learning, exploring and living. you will learn more about me, but more importantly, you will feel the pulse that allows humanity to thrive. I feel it everyday. my goal: help you put your finger on it.

“The world is a book, and those who don’t travel read only a page.” {Augustine of Hippo}

Leave a Reply

