Get Stoned

wait a second, don’t freak out. I’m not advocating marijuana use. instead, I want to share with y’all this adorable old house that was converted into a cafe! it’s called the Stone Soup Cafe and it’s located at 993 S Cooper St, Memphis, TN. the slogan on the back of their tshirts very tongue-and-cheekily (is this a phrase? well, it is now) advocated for us to Get Stoned. My boyfriend, Harris, and I stopped there for brunch after three unsuccessful attempts at finding a coffee shop. Harris tried to take me to Republic Coffee, but when we arrived, it was closed. disappointment and hunger permeated the atmosphere in the car. when Google finally found us an adequate brunch place, we sped over & were met by a restuarant that was right up our alley.

we sat ourselves outside at a wrought iron table that had a view of the whole street. a 150-year old church sat stoically across the way from us. our server was kind and attentive. I decided it would be best if I ordered from the gluten free options (food allergies are just the best, aren’t they?) and we ordered the most flavorful & filling cheese and sausage plate with Memphis BBQ sauce for dipping.

for lunch? a caprese burger with pesto for Harris and a chicken salad sandwich on gluten free cibatta for me. while the food was fantastic, the reading selection was even better.

I grabbed our current book from the car and read out loud while we waited for the food. over winter break on our way to Memphis, we started reading Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Rioridan to each other in the car. since we’ve been busy and unable to keep up with it, we continued reading on this road trip! so far, I am thoroughly enjoying this read. I’ve read almost all of Rick’s books prior to this and his writing style is so pithy and entertaining. his books might be targeted at a younger audience, but if you’re young at heart & love mythology, his series will impress you.

once we finished our meal, we planned to head back, but I sniffed out the only independent bookstore in the area. when we parked, we happened upon a delightful piece of art & Harris had to give it the stank eye.

as soon as we walked into the bookstore, I felt at home. Burke’s Book Store has been around since 1875, making it one of the oldest indie bookstores in the country. it certainly had a great vibe and atmosphere.

after we spent some time perusing the paperbacks, Harris purchased No Plot, No Problem: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days, a guide on fast-paced novel by Chris Baty. Baty founded Nanowrimo which stands for National Novel Writing Month. He’s very excited to dive in! hopefully, this will really help him write scripts for his movie production company, Knights of the Pen. new book in hand, we walked around the block because I had spotted a record store, another vintage love of mine.

Goner Records had a diverse selection to choose from. I snagged the score written by John Williams for Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope (only $12.99!), but had to pass up the rare Abbey Road vinyl ($50 😞). happy with our purchases & full of delicious food, we made our way home.

to finish up our day? I got my tragus pierced at Trilogy Tattoo. easiest piercing experience I’ve ever had!

come journey with me again soon!

Leave a Reply

